Skip to content

raley’s– what would I do without it?

February 27, 2008
tags:

I went to Raley’s the other day and bought two fresh new rechargeable batteries. So I’ll know they’re wick, and I can put them in the digital camera and finally learn how to use it.

I’d like to add some photos to this journal. Although I have to admit I’m kind of attached to the plain text format, at this point…

Yesterday I went to Raley’s and I saw a kid with a walker. It was kind of shocking; not just for old people anymore. I’ve come to hate them and I internally rebelled against seeing a perfectly healthy kid use one. He had some kind of sports injury on his foot, and was wearing a surgical shoe, but otherwise he was perfectly healthy and bouncing around. Where were the crutches?

At the checkout counter I was behind a woman who had HER OWN BAGS. Three or four large bags; one said Whole Foods, one said PG&E, the others I don’t remember. My bag normally says HarperCollins/Graduate Theological Union so it doesn’t do anything to put Raley’s in mind of possible competitors.

By the time I got to the counter, I practically had tears in my eyes. I am not left to fight alone anymore! I held up my bag for the clerk to see, and he said “You’ve got a bag, ok” and I gushed “She had her own bags too! In all the years I’ve been coming here, I think that’s the first time I’ve seen anyone else with their own bags!” I guess I wanted him to agree heartily, and congratulate me on my perseverance, and say “We’re really encouraging that!” (they do, after all, now have a sign on the door promoting reusable bags). But he just kept looking at me with a small, frozen, hate-filled smile.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    March 26, 2008 8:56 PM

    thank you
    nice work, guy

Leave a Reply

