Skip to content

maybe they just like to watch from their cars

March 10, 2008

I wonder why so many people list “walking” as an interest, yet when you’re actually walking around, there’s hardly anyone else to be seen. Walking, that is.

I went back on the water district path yesterday and the mustard flowers are as high as my forehead. Only those, so far, however; no lupines, no poppies.

So today I make a commitment to figuring out the digital camera…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2008 7:59 PM

    I have to admit that I drive to the places where I walk. I just got tired of seeing the same neighborhood over and over again.

  2. March 11, 2008 1:54 AM

    Totally counts! Doubly so for a wonderful project like yours!

  3. March 11, 2008 3:05 AM

    many list walking, fewer list hiking – what’s the difference?

    • March 11, 2008 3:21 AM

      Well, hiking=Off Track Walking. Advanced hiking can spill over into mountain climbing. That’s the way I understand it! Most of the walking I do is on city streets.
      RE: running into neighbors. I’m constantly running into people who recognize me because they “see me walking by their house.” So even if you’re not running into them, they may be looking out their windows at you. Of course, I’m sure there are more people on foot there than here, so you may not stand out as much! here, walking carries a little overtone of “unAmerican.”

      • March 11, 2008 5:44 PM

        I get the same reaction from people in the neighborhood, that they always see me walking with my dog down the street. I’ll keep my eyes open for curtains swishing and shadows in the windows.
        While this community prides itself on being very green, I would say that, aside from the college kids milling about, most people here drive, or, as a popular alternative, ride bikes.

Leave a Reply

