Skip to content

what was paradise but a garden

March 14, 2008

I was wrong; I walked down Lone Tree Way today and on the hillsides there were mustard, lupine, and poppies, all three. The quintessential California spring landscape, so beautiful and so ephemeral.

I was going to Three Marias to have lunch with Bonnie. I tried to convert her to Juarez, a little, but I’ve grown to like Three Marias a lot, too. Though I still miss George’s Ribs/Peruvian restaurant. Apparently George and his brothers did the barbecuing and that side of the menu. The wives, who were Peruvian, handled the rest.

They were famous—a little! Carol heard out in Lamorinda somewhere that there was a Peruvian restaurant in Antioch. So of course, now they’re gone. I love Mexican food—it’s one of the great cuisines of the world, I think… but geez loueez, there’s such a thing as too much competition.

We talked about this town—what else? What we would have thought, early on, if we’d been told we’d end up living here. The small-mindedness, the cultural wasteland. And the other part, that only grows more rare: the honesty of the people, the unpretentiousness, the lifelong friends and shared experience, the modest but beautiful landscape… And where that might be going, if nobody stands up to say that this is what “quality of living” is built on, far more than on property values, and bargain retailers, and upscale dining opportunities, and all the other things the City Council spends its time trying to promote.

Camazotz.

It’s hard to articulate, the thought that people could connect to or advocate for a “turning towards,” instead of enduring the punitive, exclusional hate-mongering which is the steady diet fed us by city government. But it’s time to do something.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2008 7:33 AM

    Becky,
    Hey, thanks for writing about our lunch. It was wonderful to see you after all these years! And I promise I will try Juarez at some point…you do have me all curious about the place now.
    I’ve decided to add you as an LJ friend since I have started to write in my journal again over the past few weeks. I have to warn you that I am a very erratic poster. One day, I will virtually spam my friends with post upon post upon post…and then you possibly won’t hear from me for a month or more. You can blame it on my crazy schedule, or on my poor time management, or maybe just on the fact that I go through these periods of becoming overwhelmed with my life to the point of inertia. I always do pop up again at some point, though.
    Anyway, thanks again for meeting me for lunch. It was really great.
    *hugs*

    • March 21, 2008 4:10 PM

      Why thank-you. I’ll be interested to read whatever you have to write– and no obligations. It was really wonderful to see you too…

Leave a Reply

