Skip to content

stalking the wild asparagus

March 28, 2008

OK auntysocial, I just ate a sliced Easter egg sandwich with freshly gathered mustard leaves. They were good– kind of like watercress, but a little tougher. Although the plants are really tall, they’re still flowering, and the leaves are fairly tiny.

This is my first step in staking out all the wild food sources around here, in preparation for the imminent collapse of civilization…

I keep thinking of the guy, I can’t remember exactly who it was– one of the French Baroque composers: he was the youngest of thirteen children, so when the rest of his family went off one evening to gather mushrooms in the Tuileries, he stayed home and was put to bed by a nurse. And when he woke up the next morning, his entire family was dead.

Well, I’m not going to mess with mushrooms…

Oh see how thick the goldcup flowers… *keels over*

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2008 9:43 PM

    I’m glad you tried this. Did you pick the leaves near the top of the plant? The lower ones look a bit too hairy.

    • March 31, 2008 7:43 AM

      You know, there were very few leaves on the plants– all stalks and flowers. I probably would have waited to see how they looked after they’d flowered, but as you said, I know they’ll mow them down any day now. So all the leaves I could find were rather tiny, which is why I decided to try them raw; I used all the ones that looked reasonably unsullied!

Leave a Reply

