Skip to content

if you want lunch, bring your own

April 14, 2008
tags:

Yesterday was borderline hot. Melania and I looked in vain for a place to eat down by the water. We ended up going back to Three Marias.

Their soft tacos are inexpensive, and ok. But they don’t hold a candle to Juarez’s.

Later we went back downtown and walked around. Well, it’s always peaceful– that’s something. There was a new shop– Kellie’s Broom Closet? A pagan ritual supply store. The owner was very friendly. Candles, incense, a fairly large selection of herbs. Some very nice cards. He showed us a case full of big long knives that people like to buy to put on their altars. He said they could be custom made.

No thank-you.

There were a lot of herbs and other items like myrrh, sea salt, etc. hanging in plastic bags on the wall. Saltpeter for “wives who don’t want their husbands to engage in sexual relationships outside of marriage.”

I know I’m kind of innocent, but doesn’t that pretty much take care of all sexual relationships? Well, anyway, that’s what they said in “Eating Raoul.”

We had the usual conversation about downtown, and the business situation, or lack thereof. They’re really putting their hearts into the shop, and have friends to help them keep it open during the week. I don’t think I’ll buy much there– I buy my herbs through the mail, at least till we get a Lhasa Karnak, or something comparable. But I hate to see people put their creativity and dreams into these little stores, only to see them fold after a couple of months. They’re looking at a particular community and clientele, so maybe they’ll do all right…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2008 5:46 AM

    I love Lhasa Karnak. When I lived in Oakland, I would get in there fairly frequently. :) I’ve also been to Ancient Ways (pagan store) in Oakland a few times. I just don’t see a store like that making it long-term in Antioch.
    Btw, I finally had a meal at Juarez. It was only a burrito, though. So, while I thought it was decent, I’ll have to try a few more dishes before I can decide which restaurant is “best.”
    Oh yeah, and regarding saltpeter, from what I understand, ingesting it pretty much makes ALL body parts go flop. In other words, it ain’t too good for ya.

    • April 18, 2008 11:17 PM

      Yeah– I think there have been some similar ones that went under very quickly. And, as “M” pointed out, they didn’t appear to have any kind of business plan or even to have talked to the people in business around them. Some of those specialty stores do seem to make it, but they have a really active relationship with their customers…

Leave a Reply

