Skip to content

equal time

April 17, 2008

Walking downtown and back today, I was stuck standing at a lot of intersections, waiting for the lights to change. I hit all the red ones today, and I got a lot of exercise futilely smacking the giant pedestrian-crossing buttons again and again; I know it doesn’t help, but it relieves my feelings– a little.

I noticed, in between smacks, that most of the traffic light poles have the name “McCain” raised in the metal above the button area. The brand name of the pole, I guess.

Nevertheless, I think I’m going to have to do something about that… though I might wait till after the convention…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2008 6:59 PM

    I saw an Obama lawn sign in Antioch the other day, and that was a rather pleasant shock. Actually, I suspect that there are more like-minded people here in town, but that they’re reluctant to be too obvious. In my own case, I don’t want to “advertise” in my front yard because, as a homeowner, it’s important for me to get along with my neighbors. I mean, if asked outright, I’ll say what I think…but I’m not going to flaunt it. Online is a whole ‘nother story, of course. ;)
    Btw, I hope you’re feeling better!

    • April 18, 2008 11:11 PM

      Thank-you. I feel horrible.
      I’ve seen a couple of Clinton signs– the only other Obama sign I recall seeing was the one in Carolyn’s shop.
      However, if you want to fan out with me sometime in the dead of night and put Obama stickers on signal poles…

Leave a Reply

