Skip to content

at the sign of the rooster

July 3, 2008

Carol and Paul came out for lunch. We went to the Bridgehead– their choice. Carol almost always wants to go to the Bridgehead or the Buzz Inn, so we don’t really branch out too much. Anyway, it’s always good.

I googled it before I started to write. Well, I don’t actually google, but… you know. They have a website! With five pages of pictures, just in case you need to know what scrambled eggs look like.

I love the Bridgehead.

We could have gone to Riverview, since we all ordered bacocentric items. I ordered a BLT, Carol ordered a BLT Blaster, Paul ordered a club. They mixed up the bread choices on the BLT and the BLT Blaster, and it all became rather heated and complex. Finally, they decided they had to take everything back to the kitchen and switch out the bread. Somehow, they disappeared all of Carol’s tomatoes in the process, but we didn’t want to pursue it any further at that point.

Our waitress was very friendly, but rather wound up. You can see her here— she’s the one on the left.

Later they kindly took me by the post office, but no chance of anyone being friendly there. They are all evil, and deeply corrupt.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2008 9:31 PM

    Looks like my kind of restaurant….they have biscuits and gravy….yum
    Now you know why some postal employees go…..postal. ;)

    • July 4, 2008 6:46 AM

      I guess I should be sympathetic– it’s not like they can quit and go work for the Other Post Office.
      I like their biscuits and gravy, and I think it’s hilarious they have five pages of pictures, so you can plan in advance. When you come through Antioch, you’ll know where to go!

  2. July 3, 2008 11:10 PM

    1) Who are Carol and Paul?
    2) I think the Bridgehead will have to be our next lunch destination.
    3) You think everyone at the post office is evil and corrupt? I’ve actually been treated well there…I mean, other than being made to stand in line for a really long time.

    • July 4, 2008 6:52 AM

      1) Carol and I went to Mills together; we’ve been friends ever since. Paul is her husband.
      2) Yes! Go to the website and memorize the menu, so we can become regulars. Though I still really want to go to Miller’s too.
      3) As an institution, I think the US Post Office has sold its soul to the devil– or it was sold for them. Some employees are pleasant enough, though customer service is never a huge priority. However, both here and in Martinez, there are certain clerks who are just… horrible to encounter, to say the least. Bitter, lazy, vindictive and power-mad. For a start.

Leave a Reply

