Skip to content

a real paper only costs 75 cents

August 14, 2008

On my way into Raley’s I walked around to the side entrance to pick up an Antioch Press. The dispenser looked a little more armored than usual, and there seemed to be a coin slot. While I hesitated, a Raley’s clerk out having a smoke said, “They cost 50 cents now.” “What? They’re rotting all over my neighbors’ driveways!” She just shook her head and laughed. “Well, their loss,” I said– I wouldn’t pay ten cents for that capitalist, ad-bloated rag, let alone fifty.

On my short circuit to Raley’s and back, I counted ten to fifteen in various stages of disintegration in front of people’s houses. Only one or two of the houses were unoccupied– half the time people don’t even bother to pick them up.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2008 12:00 PM

    Odd you should mention that – here, sometimes people put fliers into the household boxes for newspapers; it’s usually advertising for a church supper or house painting. But I notice that practically no one in the neighborhood bothers to remove them from the box, and most of the time, they fall out and litter the neighborhood. It’s like finding junk mail in your mailbox and tossing it on the ground instead of putting it in your trashcan. Bizarre.

    • August 15, 2008 7:25 AM

      I’ve been thinking there’s some passive resistance going on…

Leave a Reply

