Skip to content

reality calling

September 4, 2010

I was telling Melania yesterday that I need to take some pictures in other locations, because I’m making Antioch look like a quaint riverside village which*ahem* it is not.

I was especially thinking “miles of strip malls,” but I’m not really sure how to do that without, for example, a helicopter. Perhaps a high earthly vantage point would do; I’ll have to check it out.

I did want to share a picture with you that came up a few weeks ago in my “tag surfer.” I’m still trying to figure out how to follow “antioch” without getting daily posts from a bunch of Bible nuts, so I’m especially happy to get one that refers to Antioch CA, not Antioch TN or Antioch, Syria, 64 A.D. WordPress’s post and following system seem to become ever more tangled and confused.

Anyway, the picture link:

Lee's Snack Bar

I think it’s a fantastic picture. I wish I could just steal it, but I do have some morals left.
Edit:Photo has a Creative Commons license and is used by permission.

This is not in the strip mall region; this is right outside the high school on G Street. It is now boarded up and for sale, I assume the result of AHS closing its campus at lunch time.

I was thinking the other day, coming up Lone Tree Way, of the place we used to stop at, walking home from Park Junior High. It was where the Shell station is now. They had the best cokes! They were really sweet, and not too fizzy. Other kids told me it was because they used extra coke syrup– this was the first I’d heard of coke syrup.

For some reason, I thought that place was called Lee’s too, but I doubt it really was– things are probably just conflated in my mind, after all these years.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2010 9:05 PM

    Interesting story! I had never been to Antioch before this and wish I’d had more time to explore the place.

    Thanks for linking to my picture & glad you like it. It’s Creative Commons licensed, so feel free to embed it in your post if you want to. Here’s the link to the file: http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4099/4890550433_ee209f286a_z_d.jpg

    Cheers =)

  2. libbiali permalink
    September 5, 2010 10:01 AM

    Thank-you!

    Come back when you can and take more pictures. I’d love to see it through your lens.

Leave a Reply

