Skip to content

weed abatement

September 21, 2010

I was trying to think of a catchier title, but since that’s what this is really about, that’s the title.

My mom and I walked the paths behind our street yesterday. In the beautiful weather, she was able to go a long way. We’ve done it many times this summer; there’s always something to see, though it’s rarely pretty. As I mentioned awhile back, the landscape is annihilated early in the year, and I do mean annihilated, by overzealous weed-cutting.

I had my eye open for edible items. I told her if the apocalypse comes, I’m going to know where to run.

I probably shouldn’t tell you what’s back there, because in the event of the above, it’s every man for himself. But right now, there are quite a few almonds on trees and little volunteers. There are some figs, though they never seem to get ripe. A fair amount of cactus, currently with fruit. Rosemary.

There’s not much in the ground; it’s been completely torn up. They come through in April and literally rip it to shreds while the grasses are still green. They haul some of it away, and then they just leave it like that.

Listen, I’m all in favor of fire protection, which I assume is what this is about, but can we have protection with some discretion and brains? Beyond the fact that this is ugly and habitat-destroying, when you tear things up that early, before the rain ends, there’s still plenty of time for new things to sprout. And now, where we had wild grasses and grains, we have huge stands of STAR THISTLE taking root.

This plant is a nightmare. It’s hideous and dangerous and invasive beyond belief. It’s been a long time since I’ve seen much of it around here, but with their idiotic practices, the city has pretty much created a star thistle plantation back there.

Is there some reason they can’t just mow it, in the spring? I mean, it looks like hay to me. Anyway, I admit I don’t know anything about it, but there’s got to be some more intelligent way to handle this. Even if you don’t care about these paths as tiny strips of greenbelt, they are recreational trails and should be treated with a little more care and respect.

And I don’t want that f&%#*!@ star thistle seeding my yard, which it’s probably doing as we speak.

Leave a Reply

