Skip to content

the four minute warning

April 6, 2011

I wish I could record the sound of the shelter-in-place sirens here. They go off at 11:00 AM, the first Wednesday of every month. Every time I hear one, I expect a Morlock to eat me.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2011 9:53 PM

    That would just about kill my nerves! Whose idea was that?!

    • libbiali permalink
      April 9, 2011 11:59 PM

      My guess is, Dow Chemical’s, or possibly one of the oil refineries, since that’s who we’d be sheltering from.

      • May 20, 2011 8:33 PM

        sounds like a good time! This may just be me, but I think you should go to their houses at 2 am and leave feral cats in heat on their doorstep. Then, wait ;-)

        • E. A. Peregrine permalink
          May 21, 2011 12:16 AM

          Now that you mention it, it does sound a bit like that amplified a billion times.

  2. April 27, 2011 3:24 AM

    Oh gosh, we had sirens going on and off at odd times too – you live in a city with chemical plant/s too? Yikes, the pleasures of it!!

    I never know if a storage fork is beeping over there or we/they’re having a major (minor, cause it’s a small chem plant here, but still!!) spillage or damage or catastrophe, yikes!!

    There used to be sirens on Saturdays at 12.oo here, why did they choose Wednesdays??

    Anyway, the 11.00 o’clock sirens mean the shelter is okay to be inhabited, or what?? (Very weird!!) Or that people need to get into one?

    • E. A. Peregrine permalink
      May 1, 2011 9:13 AM

      The 11 o’clock sirens are only once a month. I think they’re just to test the sirens and make sure they’re operating. If you hear them any other time, you’re supposed to shelter in place: close vents, windows, stay inside.

      When I lived on the east coast there were factory whistles at noon every Saturday, like you say. But those weren’t alarms; I think they were the old way of signaling the end of the work week, or a weekly shut-down.

Leave a Reply

