Skip to content

evil miss rumphius

April 26, 2011

Well, ever since I, figuratively speaking, thumbed my nose at the weed police in the previous entry, I’ve been waiting in fear for the midnight knock on the door. And I’ve been lining up my defenses in my mind: it’s naturalized landscaping with indigenous species; they’re not weeds if you’re actively watering them; don’t you know a war memorial when you see one?

Though the weeds are indigenous (though not native– the ubiquitous oats were brought by the Spanish), the poppies are not. I was hoping they’d self-sow prolifically in their little area, but I was worried I’d find them popping up half a mile away. I think they’re beautiful, but I don’t want them to compete with actual wildflowers.

Luckily, there aren’t any farther on. But they did seem partial to the driveway cracks, which is why, as I said, I’m obliged to water those too.
making the driveway more beautiful

Miss Rumphius, as you may remember, was guilt-tripped at a young age into feeling she had to make the world more beautiful, so she went around the wild, undisturbed coastal landscapes where she lived and seed-bombed them with lupines. A librarian’s idea of how to improve nature. I wouldn’t want to do that here, though in the evil department, it’s hard to compete with the roto-tillers.

a war memorial

It is supposed to be a war memorial, by the way. It’s a tiny Flanders field. I just didn’t get as many poppies this year as last.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2011 3:32 AM

    lol love your poppies!! :)

    and love ‘big grass’ too!! :)

    I would be like Pippi Longstocking, with a lawn and jungle outside of an old villa :))

  2. April 27, 2011 3:52 AM

    Oh, and I know what you mean about ‘living in fear’ hehe – sometimes we may be just a wee bit too egocentric though, hmm? (see my newest FB post lol!!)

    • E. A. Peregrine permalink
      May 1, 2011 9:35 AM

      Well, now, Facebook is a whole different issue. Though that’s one place where it pays to stay paranoid, IMO.

      And thanks– I love them too.

Trackbacks

  1. rocket man « Heart Of The City

Leave a Reply

