Skip to content

being square

June 29, 2011

Well, I know that taking pictures of a lot of square buildings head-on doesn’t really count as Photography. But what can I do? Antioch is full of lovely square buildings.

Don’t worry, I have a few other shapes in mind, so those will be coming up soon, I hope.

Antioch had a Carnegie library, once upon a time. Before that *ahem* gaming arcade and trash fiction warehouse we have now. This was the original building, and when I was a kid, it was still the public library.

It’s been a few colors– at that time it was more beige. It was in a quiet location, and was always completely quiet when you went in. Even if you were the only patrons, you still whispered. It made it sacred and exciting at the same time: you knew it was special. I think I already mentioned that I can remember the exact place I found Lost Queen of Egypt on the shelf.

I still have my original library card, with the metal plate. I keep it in my wallet, to remember a time when, even in Antioch, people cared about something besides the LCD.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

