Skip to content

the little fruited plain

October 2, 2011

This isn’t really about Antioch… yet.

But remember back when I was telling you about the personal meadow, out in the front yard?

Well, surprise, surprise: in the back yard, I was growing wheat.

Now, I can’t recall if I waxed nostalgic about how there was wheat growing all around, when we first moved here. And how amazing I found that to be (at the age of five): real wheat, like you make bread out of.

It still volunteers occasionally, especially when there’s a lot of rain. And I try to carefully collect some, if it has the chance to mature before the city’s grim reapers come and tear everything up. That’s my seed wheat.

I grew enough to make some nice decorations last year. I’m not sure how breadworthy this stuff is. And it never really occurred to me that you could grow wheat for actual flour, in any place smaller than, say, Nebraska.

But look! These people are way WAY ahead of me. They are growing real, edible grain right in city yards, in Vancouver, I think. Admittedly, a somewhat cooler place than Antioch.

In Antioch, by the way, the rocket scientists on the City Council are apparently planning to spend the town’s last dollar on reviving code enforcement. Because, you know, it’s so much easier to harass and fine people for having something you don’t like in their front yards, than it is to deal with the fact that people are being carjacked in the Walmart parking lot.

Deep breath.

Anyway, Lawns to Loaves! Is that inspiring or what? It’s truly wonderful to me how many people are now into gardening, and this adds a whole new dimension. What if the City Council took a stand for local food security? Wouldn’t that be visionary… and beautiful too?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2011 1:34 PM

    oh goodness… poppies in the front yard, wheat in the back… that’s so fascinatingly funny i could write a blog post about it :D

    • E. A. Peregrine permalink
      October 13, 2011 7:42 AM

      You do that! I’m going to come to you for agricultural advice.

  2. October 13, 2011 8:03 AM

    oh i dunno how much advice i’d have :D

    • E. A. Peregrine permalink
      October 14, 2011 8:22 AM

      Judging by your twin can attributes– canning and Canada– you outrank me. In the agricultural hierarchy.

Leave a Reply

