Skip to content

weird objectives

December 17, 2011

When I published the last entry, WordPress informed me that I had made 171 posts and that my “next goal” was 175.

Really? Is that how this works? I mean, I like a blog that doesn’t freeze up for months at a time, but I haven’t really been patting myself on the back for the number of posts I’ve racked up. Not being, you know, Nora Roberts. I do like to think I’m doing it because I have something to share, however trivial.

Over on the TrekBBS, where I hang out now and then, your number of posts corresponds to a rank that appears with your avatar. I’ve been languishing among the Red Shirts since I actually signed up in 2007, not having all that much to say. I’m currently a Commander. But I see people now and then getting all excited: “The Captain’s chair will soon be mine!” or “I’m going to be a Fleet Admiral by the end of December!”

And I want to say, “People, you do realize these are not actual ranks?”

Then, of course, assuming you don’t realize that, I’m still left wondering why anyone would want to be promoted beyond the rank of Captain, when it is a well-known fact that everyone in Star Trek above that rank is either a corrupt, self-serving slimebag or an incompetent idiot.

You have “Admiral” next to your name. Do you really want everyone to know that you’ve made 30,000 POSTS ON THE TREKBBS??? Even looking at 171 blog posts makes me a little queasy, and honey, this ain’t my only blog…

Now back to our regularly scheduled program.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 21, 2011 6:33 PM

    lolol…i do know what you mean- with not freezing up for months at at time, but still…. who’s counting, eh??

    • E. A. Peregrine permalink
      December 23, 2011 9:50 AM

      I hate it when I start reading a blog, and then it goes silent. I don’t read that many, and I’m attached to them. It’s a hazard of the form, I guess.

Leave a Reply

