Skip to content

I’ll cry if I want to

January 22, 2012

So, I wake up this morning, and “Antioch” is trending on Twitter. You know that can’t be good.

It was a shoot-out at a birthday party. A sweet sixteen party. There must have been sirens and helicopters, but they didn’t penetrate my consciousness.

Luckily, no one was killed, as far as I can tell. Apparently everyone’s still at large. Here’s my favorite line from the KCBS blog: “an argument broke out between some of the 30 or 40 party goers in the house’s garage. Numerous shots were fired from multiple guns…”

So, everyone came armed. I don’t know who you are, darlin’, but I wish you a happy birthday, and a whole new cohort.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 29, 2012 9:36 AM

    Darlin’,

    must’ve been hell of a o party! – I mean, OMG! Yikes!

    (Hope all visitors survived??)

    I mean, who brings guns to a sweet 16 party??
    (Good thing we don’t have those here! -??)

    Oh gosh, I read the blog entry – were the 13- and 21-year olds (and all inbetween) fighting for ‘the belle of the party’? Or WHAT?

    • E. A. Peregrine permalink
      February 29, 2012 6:19 PM

      You don’t have guns, or you don’t have sweet sixteen parties?

      Anyhow, the meaning of “sweet” appears to have changed considerably.

Leave a Reply

