Skip to content

the undiscovered country

April 22, 2012

Have I really not posted this picture? I’m beginning to forget what I’ve put up, and what I haven’t. I took it late in 2010– a view of the Dow wetlands from the Antioch marina.

I guess it’s common knowledge that this “wildlife preserve” is pretty much just an excuse to have a clear zone around the plant, in case of a toxic release. As a matter of fact, they make no bones about it on their website. Better ducks and egrets than human beings with lawyers, huh?

So we have Dow to thank for some beautiful, undisturbed marshland, just like we have nuclear warhead silos, or whatever, to thank for the last remaining greenbelt along Highway 4. Still, they do a great job with it, and we’ve enjoyed it very much over the years, watching wildlife from the lookout points on the marina path, or attending events with boat tours, mountain lion handlers and angry Ohlone Indians, not that they don’t have a right to be angry.

The beauty of California, before we started to grind it up– it’s almost impossible to imagine.

Anyway, the Wetlands were dedicated on Earth Day one year– maybe in 1990? I’m just guessing. Earth Day isn’t what it used to be: I think we may have missed the window, though it was open for a long time.

I have a shopping bag from that era, that I got at the huge celebration they used to have every year at the Concord Pavillion. It says “Enron Earth Day”– I’m saving it for a collector’s item.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2012 6:55 PM

    “Enron Earth Day” is probably the best oxymoron I’ve ever seen.

    • E. A. Peregrine permalink
      April 22, 2012 7:57 PM

      Pretty amazing, huh? They sponsored a huge event there. I should probably be keeping the artifact under glass.

Leave a Reply

