Skip to content

a gift from the star of the sea

July 17, 2012

Yesterday we were sitting outside in Rocklin; it was 103°. Today, about one o’clock, a wind came up– a COLD wind. By four o’clock it was starting to feel like Ocean Beach.

When I finally bothered to look out the front window, I could see why. I ran up to the park in my continuing quest to capture the fog lying on the hills, and there it was.

It’s slightly more dramatic when the sky above is perfectly clear. But I think there’s something else going on as well, since every place north of here seems to be having thunderstorms, and hail. I’m pretty satisfied with this one, though I don’t think my quest is quite over.

It’s 1:33 AM now and the wind has stopped completely. But it’s FREEZING. I can’t adjust this fast. Still, I’m glad to live where the fog can eventually reach us. There was a tiny little Delta breeze wafting through Sacramento in the evening, but it was a pathetic remnant.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2012 9:34 PM

    did it ever rain?

    • E. A. Peregrine permalink
      August 16, 2012 10:52 AM

      Oh no– by north of here, I meant WAY north of here. There’s been a frightening increase in summer humidity the last few years, though– end of the world stuff, if you ask me.

Leave a Reply

