Skip to content

U R Yokels

July 21, 2012

So, remember the foreign film festival?

Well, we attended it last night, and I was not sufficiently optimistic. Apparently, you can fill up half the theater for foreign films when the price is right, which is to say, free.

Actually, it’s not a festival, it’s a series. And I guess they don’t really know what they’re going to show, till they’re showing it. We saw an Italian film called Mine Vaganti, or, auf Englisch, “Loose Cannons.”

It was worth the price to sit and look at pictures of Italy: city squares, and courtyards, and beautiful houses. The rest of it was, well, mildly entertaining. There was a very interesting surprise right at the beginning, but then it sort of descended into clichés. About a lot of rich, classy, boring and inconsiderate people. Melania and I agreed we were more interested in the pasta factory.

Before the show, they almost always ask who’s at the Campanil for the first time. This time Rick went on to ask if anyone had ever seen a foreign film before.

…Yes. It’s Antioch, not Kansas. And it’s not 1964, you don’t have to go into the city to an art house to see a foreign film, you can get ’em on Netflix. Or Comcast, for that matter.

I was going to ask if Godzilla counted, but I didn’t. I don’t think I’d go out of my way to see another one like this, though. I want to be a writer, boo hoo hoo. Get me some Persian film, then we’ll talk.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2012 11:49 AM

    I love it… Godzilla for the foreign film festival! Godzilla is appropriate for most occasions.

    • E. A. Peregrine permalink
      August 6, 2012 11:40 PM

      You are so exactly right. He has that je ne sais quoi.

Leave a Reply

