Skip to content

#flyoverantioch

September 22, 2012

Dear NASA, next time think of the little people and give us some more information about exactly what route the shuttle will take BETWEEN the big production numbers.

Oh, right– there won’t be a next time. I’m not going to go there.

I used the above hashtag on Twitter and some magical thinking to try to get Endeavour to fly over us on its way from Sacramento to San Francisco, and let’s hear it for magical thinking because, to my utter astonishment, it did.

We sat out on the water district path for an hour and a half waiting for it, running on nothing but hope and a general sense of direction, and suddenly there it was.

shuttle over longview

I know the backyards of Longview Road aren’t the Golden Gate Bridge, and it’s pretty tiny, but it was the real thing, and I was elated to have a chance to see it, one last time and lower down.

I’m always saying I’m not a photographer, I’m just showing you stuff, and I only took the camera along on principle, not really expecting to see anything at all, let alone photograph it, but this is one of the times it probably would have been nice if I’d actually read the manual. Then maybe I’d have more to show you than a white speck. But it was an awesome white speck. If anyone else has pictures of it in our area, please let me know!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

