Skip to content

rocket man

February 19, 2013

Well, rocket person.

arugula in the front yard

I’m sorry to say the Front Yard Experimental Farm has had unspectacular results, so far. We’re having a hard time finding anything that will really hang on in this stripped and compacted soil, let alone flourish. The one exception seems to be arugula.

Meanwhile, my neighbors down the street have a fabulous plantation of fava beans taking shape on their corner lot. They’ve added a bit more soil to their beds, which so far I haven’t had the ability to do. But he says they have the same problems I do.

They were out there with their kids when I walked by and gushed over their crop. He said they are trying to teach them, because no one does it any more. Their parents taught them, and they want to pass it on.

I don’t have any kids, but I do have one or two wonderful helpers from across the street, without whom the Experimental Farm would probably have remained the graveyard of the World War I Memorial Garden. They are interested and enthusiastic, and though my knowledge is limited, I share what I can, and we learn as we go.

Some rain would help.

A couple of weeks ago, we were laughing at our giant arugula, and I commented that we were lucky there was no homeowners association to weigh in on our landscaping choices. The little girl asked me what I meant, and I explained to her that in some neighborhoods, usually a bit ritzier than ours, there were groups that enforced rules about what you could plant in your yard, and what color you could paint your house.

She was absolutely appalled. A few days later her brother was here with her, and she exclaimed, “Tell him about THAT THING.”

As uncooperative as it’s been so far, we’re thankful for our “bit of earth.” The aesthetics ebb and flow, but its value transcends its appearance.

I have to admit, I’m still longing to grow wheat.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    February 19, 2013 11:11 AM

    It looks splendid though. I don’t remember you ever mentioning composting, it’s frustraiting slow but you can help the next generation.

    • February 20, 2013 2:33 AM

      It looks good because I took it up close– if I’d backed away a little, it would have looked a lot more ratty!

      I compost directly into the soil in back, but I haven’t figured out how to do that in front, aside from a few coffee grounds I sneak into corners once in a while. I have considered moving some of that back soil here, but no matter how much stuff I put in it, it still feels like solid clay. I’ve been at it for a good three years!

Leave a Reply

