Skip to content

drifting away

May 24, 2013

red ship heading west in the san joaquin river mother's day 2013

Why are they always red? There must be a reason, though I don’t know it.

We followed this ship from Sherman Island back into Antioch, on Mother’s Day. I always think it must be so strange to sail out at sea for days, or weeks, and then to be in a river, with land all around, especially once you’re in the deep water channels, a hundred miles inland. Like being a fish in an aquarium.

This was taken at the end of G Street, overlooking the Riverview pier. I’ve been taking pictures with my new phone. It’s just an inexpensive flip phone, the kind you see old people arguing about on television, but it’s the first one I’ve had with a camera. That’s how I took the picture of the Mecca too. I was a little distressed by the low quality, until it occurred to me it might help to take off the protective plastic film on the front, which was covering the lens.

You can’t post too many ships, IMO. I have other pictures in the drafts, that I’ve been saving, but I can’t get up the energy to comment on. Not beautiful, but informative. I’m going to try to get to them, before they’re out of date.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2013 6:06 PM

    That’s a really good picture! I’m amazed at what cameras can do these days. Especially when the plastic protector is taken off LOL!

    I love big ships. I miss living on the coast.

    • May 24, 2013 11:13 PM

      This was BEFORE I took the plastic off. I’m not totally sure it didn’t give it a nice effect.

      I’ve often wondered about that– I’ve thought it would be really hard to live way inland, if you’re used to being close to the sea, even if you’re someplace beautiful.

Leave a Reply

